Forex Hours

The Forex market is the only 24-hour market, opening Sunday 5 PM EST, and running continuously until Friday 5 PM EST. The Forex day starts with the opening of Sydney’s (Australia) Forex market at 5:00 PM EST (10:00 PM GMT / 22:00), and ends with the closing of New York’s market, a day after, at 5:00 PM EST (10:00 PM GMT / 22:00), immediately reopening in Sydney restart trading.
Note: EST is an abbreviation for Eastern Standard Time (e.g. New York), while GMT is an abbreviation for Greenwich Mean Time (e.g. London).

The main Forex markets, in the order of their opening times, are: Sydney, Tokyo, Frankfurt, London and New York. On the chart below, you can see the hourly course of the Forex-trading day.

Forex hours chart
Note: Tokyo’s market doesn’t start in the proper time zone due to the fact that it opens 1 hour
after the other markets (9:00 AM Local Time, while others open at 8:00 AM Local Time).

The following table illustrates the opening and closing local times for a Forex day and week, in function of time zones.

Time Zone Opening/Closing time* Week starts Week ends  
GMT+12 10:00 AM (10:00) Monday 10:00 AM Saturday 10:00 AM Auckland
GMT+11 09:00 AM (09:00) Monday 09:00 AM Saturday 09:00 AM  
GMT+10 08:00 AM (08:00) Monday 08:00 AM Saturday 08:00 AM Sydney
GMT+9 07:00 AM (07:00) Monday 07:00 AM Saturday 07:00 AM Tokyo
GMT+8 06:00 AM (06:00) Monday 06:00 AM Saturday 06:00 AM Hong Kong
GMT+7 05:00 AM (05:00) Monday 05:00 AM Saturday 05:00 AM Bangkok
GMT+6 04:00 AM (04:00) Monday 04:00 AM Saturday 04:00 AM Dhaka
GMT+5 03:00 AM (03:00) Monday 03:00 AM Saturday 03:00 AM Karachi
GMT+4 02:00 AM (02:00) Monday 02:00 AM Saturday 02:00 AM  
GMT+3 01:00 AM (01:00) Monday 01:00 AM Saturday 01:00 AM  
GMT+2 00:00 AM (00:00) Sunday 00:00 AM Friday 00:00 AM Cairo
GMT+1 11:00 PM (23:00) Sunday 11:00 PM Friday 11:00 PM Frankfurt
GMT 10:00 PM (22:00) Sunday 10:00 PM Friday 10:00 PM London
GMT-1 09:00 PM (21:00) Sunday 09:00 PM Friday 09:00 PM  
GMT-2 08:00 PM (20:00) Sunday 08:00 PM Friday 08:00 PM  
GMT-3 07:00 PM (19:00) Sunday 07:00 PM Friday 07:00 PM  
GMT-4 06:00 PM (18:00) Sunday 06:00 PM Friday 06:00 PM  
GMT-5 05:00 PM (17:00) Sunday 05:00 PM Friday 05:00 PM New York
GMT-6 04:00 PM (16:00) Sunday 04:00 PM Friday 04:00 PM Chicago
GMT-7 03:00 PM (15:00) Sunday 03:00 PM Friday 03:00 PM  
GMT-8 02:00 PM (14:00) Sunday 02:00 PM Friday 02:00 PM Los Angeles
GMT-9 01:00 PM (13:00) Sunday 01:00 PM Friday 01:00 PM  
GMT-10 00:00 PM (12:00) Sunday 00:00 PM Friday 00:00 PM Hawaii
GMT-11 11:00 AM (11:00) Sunday 11:00 AM Friday 11:00 AM  
* The closing time is same as the opening time, but is refered to day after the opening.

If you live in New York you can see from the table (GMT-5) that daily trade starts at 5:00 PM (17:00), and ends at 5:00 PM (17:00) the day after. The weekly opening is at Sunday, while the weekly closing is Friday.

Familiarize yourself with your local opening and closing times, because this will impact when you must close your day trades.

For example, if you live in London (GMT), the Forex day ends and restarts at 10:00 PM (22:00). If you open a position at 9:30 PM (21:30), and close it at 10:30 AM (22:30), your trade goes from one to another Forex day and rollover/swap are applied. If you open a position at 10:30 PM (22:30), and close it next day at 11:00 AM (11:00), your trade is intraday (closed within the same Forex day), and no rollover/swap apply.

Important: A Forex day doesn’t correspond to a normal/calendar day.

etoro forex

Forex Online
Forex Basics
Basic Charts
Forex Terms
Forex Hours
Trading Examples
World's Currencies
Forex Platforms
eToro Platform
Free Forex Software
Links